# CLINTON TOWNSHIP SUPERVISORS ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

### MINUTES

### **January 2, 2018**

**CALL TO ORDER at 3:35 PM:** Kathy Allen, Ed Boyd, Jim Halstead, Sarah Altomari (Secretary). Others present included Jean Duncan and Tom Hartwig.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: There were no public comments.

### **ORGANIZATION OF BOARD:**

Jim Halstead made a motion to appoint Kathy Allen as the temporary Chairman and Sarah Altomari as the temporary Secretary. Ed Boyd seconded the motion. All in favor, motion passed.

Ed made a motion to appoint Kathy Allen as the Chairman of the Board of Supervisors. Jim seconded the motion. All in favor, motion passed.

Ed made a motion to appoint Jim Halstead as the Vice Chairman. Kathy seconded the motion. All in favor, motion passed.

Kathy took over the meeting as the new Chairman.

**ELECTED OFFICIALS:** There are newly elected officials for 2018. The officials are Supervisor Jim Halstead, Auditor John Kardos, and Real Estate Tax Collector Heather Snyder. The Secretary reported that all Oaths of Office were turned in.

### **APPOINTMENTS**:

Jim motioned and Ed seconded the motion to make the following Supervisor Liaison appointments:

Planning Commission – Ed Boyd Park Advisory Board/ Friends of Spring Valley Park – Jim Halstead Butler COG – Jim Halstead County Association Advisory Board – Kathy Allen Earned Income Tax Committee – Kathy Allen

All in favor, motion passed.

Jim motioned and Ed seconded the motion to make the following appointments:

Secretary – Sarah Altomari, wages set at \$43,470 per year
Treasurer – Sarah Altomari
Open Records Officer – Sarah Altomari
Zoning Officer to administer, interpret and enforce the zoning ordinance – Sarah Altomari
Planning Commission Recording Secretary – Sarah Altomari
Roadmaster – Jim Halstead
Full Time Road Employees – Jim Halstead (Wages to be set by the Board of Auditors as a Working Supervisor)
– Jeff Krstonich (Wages set at \$20.07 per hour)
As Needed/Winter Maintenance Employee – Gary McCall (Wages set at \$16.00 per hour)
Inspection Agency – MDIA
Primary Sewage Enforcement Officer – Doug Duncan as per 2018 fee schedule as submitted
Alternate Sewage Enforcement Officer – David Ice

Dog Officer – Dennis Sybert at a rate of \$45 per incident plus mileage
Solicitor for the Supervisors and Planning Commission – Murrin, Taylor & Gallagher as per rates submitted
Solicitor for Zoning Hearing Board – Laurel Hartshorn
Primary Engineer – ARCADIS as per rates submitted
Back Up Engineer – Gateway Engineers
Vacancy Board – Mark Duster, one year term to expire 12/2018
Planning Commission – Bill Duncan, four year term to expire 12/2021
Zoning Hearing Board – Marty Micko, three year term to expire 12/2020
Park Advisory Board – Vacant, four year term to expire 12/2021
Building Code Appeals Board – Dave McRoberts, three year term to expire 12/2020

All in favor, motion passed.

# **COMPENSATIONS:**

Ed made a motion to authorize mileage rate at \$0.545 (2018 IRS rate). Jim seconded the motion. All in favor, motion passed.

Ed made a motion to authorize payment of registration fees, transportation expenses, and other actual expenses incurred to attend the state convention, county conventions, conferences, educational seminars, or other functions when person is acting as a representative of Clinton Township. This could include but is not limited to Supervisors, Roadmaster, Auditors, Tax Collector, Code Enforcement Officer, Secretary, Treasurer, Planning Commission member, employee or other appointed official who is directed to attend such functions by the Board. Also to authorize payment of regular employee rate or \$50 per day as designated for each individual. Jim seconded the motion. All in favor, motion passed.

# TIME AND PLACE OF MEETINGS:

Jim made a motion for all meetings to be held at Clinton Township Municipal Building, 711 Saxonburg Boulevard unless otherwise noted. Supervisors Agenda Setting Meetings to begin at 3:30PM and regular meetings to begin at 7PM unless otherwise noted. Planning Commission meetings to begin at 7:30PM unless otherwise noted. Park Meetings to begin at 7PM unless otherwise noted. Ed seconded the motion. All in favor, motion passed.

# **OTHER BUSINESS**:

Jim made a motion to set the office hours as follows:

Monday, Wednesday, Thursday – 9am to 4pm Tuesday – 9am to 7pm

Friday – 9am to 12pm

Ed seconded the motion. All in favor, motion passed.

Ed made a motion to reaffirm Open Record Policy (Resolution 2009-02) and Public Comment Policy (Resolution 2009-03). Jim seconded the motion. All in favor, motion passed.

Jim made a motion to adjourn. Ed seconded the motion. All in favor, motion passed.

# Adjourn at 3:50 PM

Respectfully Submitted,

Sarah K. Altomari, Secretary